The Five Languages of Love

There are so many ways that make people feel loved, but some people feel loved in different ways. One way that a lot of people use to classify how people give and receive love is through love languages. Love languages were first introduced in a book written by Gary Chapman. In this book he outlined five ways that we give and receive love. He referred to them as love languages.

So what are the five love languages?

The five love languages are:
•    Words of Affirmation
•    Quality Time
•    Receiving Gifts
•    Acts of Service
•    Physical Touch

Why are love languages important?
Knowing your partner’s love language gives insight into what’s most important to them. This allows you to ensure that your partner’s emotional needs are met and that they feel loved. Knowing your partner’s love language can aid you in developing a healthy and lasting relationship. It is also important to recognize your own love language.

What does each love language mean?

For those with the love language of words of affirmation, it is important from them to hear you verbally acknowledge your love for them. These acknowledgements can be written or spoken. It can be in the form of actually saying “I love you.” It can also be compliments or words of encouragement. If your partner’s love language is words of affirmation try writing them a kind note, tell them they are doing well, or compliment their appearance or one of their attributes.    

For those with the love language of quality time, it is important for them when you want to spend time with them. It is important that when you spend time with them that you give them your full attention. Try making eye contact, put away your phone and enjoy the time you get to spend with this person.

For those with the love language of receiving gifts, it is important for them when to receive items as evidence that you love them. If your partner’s love language is receiving gifts, present them with meaningful items and gifts. The gifts mean more if they represent something.  These could be things that make you think of them or something that represents your time spent together.

For those with the love language of acts of service, it is important for them to feel like you are taking time out of your day to show your love for them. For these people, actions speak louder than words. They appreciate you doing chores around the house, filling up their gas tank, and other things that take stress off them.

For those with the love language of physical touch, it is important for them to receive physical signs of affection. If your partner’s love language is physical touch, try holding their hand or giving them a hug. This makes them feel loved and appreciated.

What are the percentages for each love language?
•    23 percent chose words of affirmation.
•    20 percent chose quality time.
•    20 percent chose acts of service.
•    19 percent chose physical touch.
•    18 percent chose to receive gifts.

Curious to know what your love language is? Here is a link to a quiz to find your own love language:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.